The First Day of Preschool

“…in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me,

when as yet there was none of them.” 

Psalm 139:16

 

Today was Adella’s first day of preschool. 

She was excited!

I thought about how three years had passed by in a blur of life.

I thought about how I felt so blindsided by something I knew was coming.

I thought the thought that every parent thinks…

“I can’t believe that my baby is starting preschool!”

When I was taking her picture before we left Adella heard a bird chirping in the tree by our front door. 

Eyes wide with wonder, she pointed and shouted, “Mommy!  Daddy!  I want to hold that bird!

At the time, I thought it was sweet.

 But after the mommy and daddy pictures were taken…

…after we signed her in at preschool and let her play in the lobby…

…after we watched her line up with her class…

…I thought about how sweet that little chirping bird had been. 

I thought about the gospel hymn “His Eye Is On The Sparrow” and the verse that says

“Let not your heart be troubled,”
His tender word I hear,
And resting on His goodness,
I lose my doubts and fears;
Though by the path He leadeth
But one step I may see:
His eye is on the sparrow,
And I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow,
And I know He watches me.

 I thought about how God is leading Adella’s little life. 

I thought about how God has every day of Adella’s life written before she had lived a single one.

I thought about how God’s takes note of each little sparrow and how much more attentive he is to Adella.

It was an overwhelmingly beautiful thought on an overwhelmingly beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

